Requiem para un no nacido

SSAATTBB; Sop, Alto, Ten, Bass solo and Piano

Program Note

I always wanted to write a Requiem. In 2007, I was presented with a video called “El Grito Silencioso.” After I finished watching the video I knew I had to write a Requiem for the Unborn. 


No matter what you think about this topic, I believe all people, regardless of their beliefs, deserve a way to heal. This work is precisely entitled to do that. I truly believe in the healing power of music. Many of my works are supposed to touch your soul in some positive way (I hope). 


I was planning to use the same idea as Fauré and Duruflé regarding the setting of the text. In the end, I was able to complete just the Sanctus.


The idea was based, as in my first composition, in an ostinato and some “big open chords” as I called them. The central section includes four soloists.


I hope that through my music, you can find what you’re looking for. 


  • Juan Guerra González 

World Premiere

National Choir of El Salvador

Ana Gertrudis Gómez, Soprano

Lorena Melgar, Mezzo-Sorapno

Mauricio Iglesias, Tenor

Marlon Acosta, Bass

Juan Guerra González, piano

Julio García Polanco, conductor.